State treaty on cross-border cooperation between Finland and Russia

The objective of the state treaty on cross-border cooperation between Finland and Russia is to promote the development of regions on both sides of the border. The treaty was signed on 13 April 2012 and entered into force on 25 June 2012. Finland's Ministry of Employment and the Economy and Russia's Ministry of Economic Development are the ministries responsible for the implementation of the treaty. An intergovernmental committee acts as the strategic cooperation body.

The treaty also supports the implementation of EU cross-border co­operation programmes i.e. ENI CBC programmes in Finland's and Russia's border regions. In 2014 - 2020, three ENI CBC programmes are being implemented; they are Kolarctic, Karelia and South-eastern Finland-Russia Their total combined funding amounts to 179 million euros. Funding for the programmes is being provided by the EU, Finland and Russia, as well as by Sweden and Norway in the case of the Kolarctic programme.

The treaty does not establish new funding mechanisms. Sources of funding include the EU’s cross-border cooperation programmes and other possible EU sources, funding from international financing institutions as well as the budgeted funding from the central administration and regional administrations.

The implementation of the treaty was suspended following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine at the end of February 2022. Russia terminated the treaty on 25 October 2023. The termination arrangements are under way. The treaty will expire on 24 January 2024.

Further information: petri.haapalainen(at)