Skip to content
Government and ministries

The Finnish Space Committee appointed

Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment
5.9.2019 14.09
Press release

In its plenary session, the Government appointed the new Finnish Space Committee for a three-year term from 6 September 2019 to 5 September 2022.

The Finnish Space Committee acts as an advisory body to the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment in matters related to space policy and the space sector. Matters falling within the competence of the Committee include the adoption of the national space strategy, follow-up of strategy implementation, and defining the guidelines and priorities for Finland’s international influencing.  The Committee brings together the perspectives of the various administrative branches.  However, each Ministry is responsible for space activities within its own administrative branch.

In recent years, the idea of building a decentralised space administration has been discussed in the administrative branches and between various players in the field. In spring 2019, the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, in close cooperation with other ministries and interest groups, made preparations to renew the Space Committee.  The Government Decree on the Finnish Space Committee was adopted on 7 June 2019. Its objective is to clarify and improve the Committee’s operations, and to enhance the coordination and preparation of space-related matters.

Composition of the Finnish Space Committee 6 September 2019 – 5 September 2022:

Chair: Ilona Lundström, Director-General, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment
Vice-Chair: Päivi Antikainen, Director of Unit, Ministry of Transport and Communications


Tanja Jääskeläinen, Deputy Director General, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Kai Knape, Security Director, Ministry of Defence
Tanja Suni, Research Director, Ministry of the Environment
Pentti Lähteenoja, Director-General, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
Janne Koivukoski, Deputy Director General for Rescue Services, Ministry of the Interior
Paavo-Petri Ahonen, Senior Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of Education and Culture
Juhani Damski, Director General, Finnish Meteorological Institute
Kimmo Kanto, Head of Space, Business Finland
Susan Linko, Director, Academy of Finland
Veera Sylvius, Managing Director, Space Systems Finland Oy/Association of Finnish Defence and Aerospace Industries AFDA
Juha-Matti Liukkonen, Director, Reaktor Group Oy/Association of Finnish Defence and Aerospace Industries AFDA
Minna Palmroth, Professor, University of Helsinki/Finnish National Committee on Space Research COSPAR

A secretariat working at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment is provided for the Committee: Maija Lönnqvist, Chief Specialist; Jenni Tapio, Chief Specialist; Tuija Ypyä, Ministerial Adviser; and Heidi Pennanen, Specialist.

Chief Specialist Maija Lönnqvist, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, tel. +358 50 331 3791, [email protected]

Back to top