Regional development is cooperation

Regional development means wide-ranging, multi-level activities to promote wellbeing and prosperity in different regions. It is based on interaction between ministries, counties, municipalities and other operators. In regional development, the goals and measures of different counties and administrative branches are examined together both from national and regional perspectives. This examination covers both the measures and resources of regional development and the effects of policy-making (in different sectors) on regional development.

The Government’s regional development decision serves as a common regional development strategy for the duration of the term of government. The ministries are committed to implementing the coordinated regional development targets defined in the regional development decision based on the Government Programme. The regional development decision is prepared in cooperation between the ministries, regions and other partners. A central task of the authorities responsible for regional development is to create conditions for this cooperation and for the formation of a shared vision.

The Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment is responsible for regional development and its coordination.

Regional Councils serve as regional development authorities in the counties. ELY Centres contribute to regional development by carrying out the central government’s implementation and development tasks in the regions.

The targets and programmes of regional development and the responsibilities of the authorities have been determined in the Act on Regional Development and the Administration of Structural Funds (7/2014).

Further information: hanna-maria.urjankangas(at)

The regional development decision 2020–2023

Regional development system

Desciption of the regional development system.