The Finnish Space Committee brings national actors together

Finland’s space policy falls under the responsibilities of the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment. Operating under the Ministry as an advisory body, the Finnish Space Committee brings together the perspectives of various administrative branches. The Committee was responsible for the formulation of the National Strategy for Finland’s Space Activities 2013–2020 and is systematically monitoring its implementation.

Finland has been a member of the European Space Agency (ESA) since 1995. Finnish participation in ESA’s research and science programmes is coordinated by Business Finland.

The composition of the Committee 6.9.2019 - 5.9.2022:

Chairman: Director-General Ilona Lundström, Ministry of Employment and the Economy

Vice Chairman: Director of Unit Päivi Antikainen, Ministry of Transport and Communications

Deputy Director-General Tanja Jääskeläinen, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Director of Unit Kai Knape, Ministry of Defence
Research Director Tanja Suni, Ministry of the Environment
Director-General Pentti Lähteenoja, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
Deputy Director General for Rescue Services Janne Koivukoski, Ministry of the Interior
Counsellor of Education Paavo-Petri Ahonen, Ministry of Education and Culture
Director General Juhani Damski, Finnish Meteorological Institute
Head of Space Kimmo Kanto, Business Finland
Director Susan Linko, Academy of Finland
General Manager Veera Sylvius, Space Systems Finland/Association of Finnish Defence and Aerospace In-dustries AFDA
Director Juha-Matti Liukkonen, Reaktor Group/Association of Finnish Defence and Aerospace Industries AFDA
Professor Minna Palmroth, University of Helsinki/Finnish National Committee of COSPAR

The Committee has a secretariat which operates in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment.

Further information:

Maija Lönnqvist - maija.lonnqvist(at)
Jenni Tapio - jenni.tapio(at)
Tuija Ypyä - tuija.ypya(at)
Heidi Pennanen - heidi.pennanen(at)