Urban Policy Committee

The urban policy activities of various ministries are coordinated and developed by the Urban Policy Committee appointed in 2020. Its objective is to strengthen partnerships between the Government, cities, and urban regions, to promote the ability of urban regions to renew, as well as their competitiveness, social sustainability and capacity to deal with challenges related to climate change.

The Committee’s key tasks include promoting the implementation of urban policies outlined in the Government Programme and the Government’s regional development decision, coordinating the ministries’ urban policy measures, developing forms of cooperation between the Government and urban regions, and promoting national and international networking and exchange of experiences between urban regions. In addition, the Committee participates in the preparation of the national urban strategy.

The Committee is chaired by Mika Lintilä, Minister of Economic Affairs, and its vice-chairs are Krista Mikkonen, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, and Pekka Timonen, Mayor of Lahti. The Committee has representatives from most ministries, and from the cities of Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa, Tampere, Turku, Oulu, Jyväskylä, Kuopio, Pori, Kouvola, Joensuu, Lappeenranta, Vaasa, Hämeenlinna, Seinäjoki, Rovaniemi, Mikkeli, Kotka, Salo, Porvoo, Kokkola and Kajaani, regional cities and from the Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities. The Committee’s term of office ends when the term of Prime Minister Sanna Marin’s Government ends.

More information Katja Palonen katja.palonen(at)gov.fi and Olli Voutilainen olli.voutilainen(at)gov.fi