Committee on Corporate Social Responsibility

The Committee is a consultative body that supports administrative decision making. Members of the Committee on Corporate Social Responsibility represent various authorities, trade and industry, and labour market and civic organisations. The Committee’s term of office extends from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

The Committee functions in pursuit of a stronger national and international social responsibility policy, and economically, socially and ecologically responsible operation and production methods among enterprises and other organisations. The Committee supports organisations’ societal and corporate responsibility based on current Finnish legislation, international agreements binding on Finland and guidelines issued by international organisations.

The Committee acts as the Finnish National Contact Point for the effective implementation of the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises together with the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment.

The functions of the Committee are based on Government Decree 591/2008 given 4 September 2008 and updated 3 March 2016.

Composition of the Committee on Corporate Social Responsibility


Jan Hjelt, Director-General, Ministry of Economic  Affairs and Employment

Deputy Chair:

Liisa Huhtala, Government Counsellor, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment

Members (personal deputy in brackets):

Kent Wilska, Director, Sustainable Trade Unit, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
(Malena Sell-Myllyoja, Commercial Secretary, Ministry for Foreign Affairs)

Merja Saarnilehto, Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of the Environment (Mikko Rissanen, Senior Specialist, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health)

Katariina Sillander, Ministerial Adviser, Prime Minister's Office
(Sinikka Mustakari, Ministerial Adviser, Prime Minister’s Office)

Karoliina Katila, Specialist, Federation of Finnish Enterprises (Tiina Toivonen, Head of Legal Affairs, Federation of Finnish Enterprises)

Hannu Ylänen, Senior Adviser, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK
(Elina Sonninen, Adviser, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK)

Päivi Pohjanheimo, director, Central Chamber of Commerce
(Anne Vanhala, Sustainability Advisor, Central Chamber of Commerce )

Pekka Ristelä, Head of International Affairs, the Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK
(Pia Björkbacka, Adviser for International Affairs, the Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK)

Jaakko Haikonen, Adviser, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK
(Elena Gorschkow, Chief of Public Affairs, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK)

Anu Tuovinen, Chief Adviser, Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland Akava (Marja Innanen, UN Global Compact Network Finland) 

Kalle Kuusimäki, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland (Juha Beurling-Pomoell, The Consumers’ Union of Finland)

Heidi Melkas, Finnish Business and Society ry (Greta Andersson, Finnish Business and Society ry)

Sonja Finér, Executive Director, Finnwatch ry (Lasse Leipola, Finnwatch ry)

Outi Hakkarainen, Policy Adviser, Fingo ry (Mika Välitalo, Fingo ry)

Hannes Koljonen, Finnish Association for Nature Conservation (Janni Saari-Kontkanen, Finnish Association for Nature Conservation)