Heidi Fagerholm appointed as chairperson of the Board of Tekes

Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment 14.1.2016 13.25
Press release
On 14 January 2016 the Government adopted a decision on changes to the composition of the Board of Tekes, the Finnish Funding Agency for Technology and Innovation. The decision will be in effect for the remainder of the Board's term, i.e. from 1 February 2016 to 30 June 2017.

The Government allowed Kai Öistämö, the current chairperson of the Board, to resign, and appointed Heidi Fagerholm, Chief Technology Officer at Kemira Plc and a current member of the Board, as the new chairperson. Fagerholm has acted as a member of the Board since July 2011.

At the same time, Juha Ala-Mursula, Executive Director at Business Oulu, was appointed as a new Board member.

Besides Fagerholm and Ala-Mursula, the other Board members are Vice Chairperson Taina Susiluoto, Director-General at the Ministry of Employment and the Economy, Timo Ahopelto, Partner at Lifeline Ventures Ltd, Aki Kangasharju, Head of Research at Nordea Finland, Eero Pekkola, CEO at Oilon Ltd, and Liisa Välikangas, Professor at Aalto University.

The Board establishes the general policies of Tekes and makes decisions on broad-based issues and important matters of principle. In addition, it decides on project funding if the funding provided by Tekes exceeds 3 million euros.


Mr Petri Peltonen,Director General,Ministry of Employment and the Economy, tel. +358 50 62663

Ms Anne Rothovius, Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of Employment and the Economy, tel. +358 29 506 3532